hp-support-head-portlet

Actions
Loading...
HP Customer Support - Knowledge Base

hp-contact-secondary-navigation-portlet

Actions
Loading...

hp-share-print-widget-portlet

Actions
Loading...
  • Information

    Fix and resolve Windows 10 update issue on HP Computer or Printer. Click here

hp-concentra-wrapper-portlet

Actions
Loading...

HP Slate 21 All-in-One PCs - Performing a Factory Reset (Android 4.2/Jelly Bean)

This document applies to HP desktop computers with Android 4.2/Jelly Bean operating system.
Resetting your HP Android computer restores the original factory settings, removing all stored Google Accounts and erasing all stored data. All locally saved files, apps, and saved networks are deleted. If possible, back up important files, either on the Web or with an external storage device, before resetting the computer. The Google Accounts themselves, and any data synced to the Web, are not affected by a reset.
note:
A factory reset does not replace the Android Operating System.
You can reset the computer with the power turned off or on. If the computer boots normally and you are able to access the settings menu, use the steps in Resetting with the computer powered on. If the computer does not boot normally, or if you do not remember the computer's lock screen password, use the steps in Resetting with the computer powered off.

Resetting with the computer powered on

If the computer boots normally and you are able to sign in to the owner account (the first account added to the device), use the steps in this section to reset your computer to its original factory state. User accounts do not have access to factory reset. If you are unable to use these steps, see Resetting with the computer powered off for instructions to reset your computer from the Android system recovery menu.
  caution:
All data saved on your device is deleted when you perform a factory reset. All apps are uninstalled. Data stored in your Google Account can be restored. Back up all important files, either on the Web or with an external storage device, before resetting the computer.
  1. From the Home screen, click or touch the All apps icon, and then click or touch the Settings icon.
  2. In the Personal section, click or touch Backup & reset.
    Figure : Backup & reset
    Backup & reset
  3. Click or touch Factory data reset.
    Figure : Factory data reset
    Factory data reset in Backup & reset menu
  4. Click or touch Reset tablet.
    Figure : Reset tablet button
    Reset tablet button
  5. If you set a lock screen password for your computer, enter your password when prompted.
  6. The screen displays Erase all your personal information and downloaded apps? You can't reverse this action! Click or touch Erase everything to confirm and begin the reset.
  7. The computer powers off and the screen shows Erasing. When the reset is complete, the computer reboots. Set up the computer by following the steps in the HP support document Setting Up Your HP Desktop Computer.

Resetting with the computer powered off

If the computer does not boot normally, or if you do not remember the lock screen password, it may be necessary to perform a reset without turning on the computer. Use the steps in this section to reset the computer from the Android system recovery menu:
  caution:
All data saved on your device is deleted when you perform a factory reset. All apps are uninstalled. Data stored in your Google Account can be restored. Back up all important files, either on the Web or with an external storage device, before resetting the computer.
  1. With the computer powered off, press and hold the Volume down button and Power button at the same time.
      Figure : Power, Brightness, and Volume buttons
      Power, Brightness, and Volume buttons
    1. Volume up and down buttons
    2. Brightness up and down buttons
    3. Power button
  2. When an HP logo appears on the screen, release the buttons.
    After a few seconds, the Android system Fast boot menu appears.
  3. Use the Volume down button or the pg dn arrow key to move the highlighted selection to Recovery mode.
    Figure : Recovery mode
    Recovery mode in the Fast boot mode menu
    note:
    The touch screen is disabled when the computer is in recovery mode. Use the Volume up button and Volume down button , or the pg dn and pg up keys, to navigate up or down in the recovery menu. Use the Brightness up button or Enter key to make a selection.
  4. Press the Brightness up button or Enter key to select.
  5. In the Android system recovery menu, use the Volume down button or the pg dn arrow key to move the highlighted selection to wipe data/factory reset.
    Figure : Wipe data/factory reset
    Wipe data/factory reset
  6. Press the Brightness up button or Enter key to select.
  7. The screen displays Confirm wipe of all user data? THIS CAN NOT BE UNDONE. Use the Volume down button to move the highlight down to Yes -- delete all user data.
    Figure : Confirm wipe of all user data
    Confirm wipe of all user data
  8. Press the Brightness up button or Enter key to confirm and begin the reset.
  9. A recovery system screen shows the reset process. Wait for the reset process to complete.
  10. When the screen says Data wipe complete, highlight Reboot system now, and then press the Brightness up button or Enter key to select.
    Figure : Reboot system now
    Reboot system now
    Wait for the computer to reboot.
  11. Set up the computer by following the steps in the HP support document Setting Up Your HP Desktop Computer.

hp-feedback-input-portlet

Actions
Loading...

hp-feedback-banner-portlet

Actions
Loading...

hp-country-locator-portlet

Actions
Loading...
Country/Region: Flag United States

hp-detect-load-my-device-portlet

Actions
Loading...