hp-support-head-portlet

Actions
Loading...
HP Customer Support - Knowledge Base

hp-contact-secondary-navigation-portlet

Actions
Loading...

hp-share-print-widget-portlet

Actions
Loading...
  • Information
    Fix Windows 10 Update Issues

    Resolve Windows 10 or update issues on an HP computer or printer – Click here

    Information

    Fix intermittent print spooler service errors that may cause print jobs to fail post a Windows update. Click here

hp-concentra-wrapper-portlet

Actions
Loading...

Performing a Factory Reset/Recovery on Your HP SlateBook x2 (Android 4.3, 4.2/Jelly Bean)

This document applies to HP SlateBook x2 computers with Android 4.3 or 4.2/Jelly Bean operating system.
Resetting your HP SlateBook x2 restores the original factory settings, removing all stored Google Accounts and erasing all stored data. All locally saved files, apps, and saved networks are deleted. If possible, back up important files, either on the Web or with an external storage device, before resetting the notebook. The Google Accounts themselves, and any data synced to the Web, are not affected by a reset.
You can reset the notebook with the power turned off or on. If the notebook boots normally and you are able to access the settings menu, use the steps in Resetting with the notebook powered on. If the notebook does not boot normally, or if you do not remember the notebook's lock screen password, use the steps in Resetting with the notebook powered off.
note:
Depending on the version of Android installed on your tablet, some of the images in this document may not match your tablet exactly.

Resetting with the notebook powered on

If the SlateBook boots normally and you are able to sign in to the owner account (the first account added to the device), use the steps in this section to reset your notebook to its original factory state in Android 4.2 or 4.3. User accounts do not have access to factory reset. If you are unable to use these steps, see Resetting with the notebook powered off for instructions to reset your notebook from the Android system recovery menu.
  caution:
All data saved on your device is deleted when you perform a factory reset. All apps are uninstalled. Data stored in your Google Account can be restored. Back up all important files, either on the Web or with an external storage device, before resetting the notebook.
  1. From the Home screen, click or touch the All apps icon, and then click or touch the Settings icon.
  2. In the Personal section, click or touch Backup & reset.
    Figure : Backup & reset
    Backup & reset
  3. Click or touch Factory data reset.
    Figure : Factory data reset
    Factory data reset
  4. Click or touch Reset tablet.
    Figure : Reset tablet
    Reset tablet
  5. If you set a lock screen password for your notebook, enter your password when prompted.
  6. The screen displays Erase all your personal information and downloaded apps? You can't reverse this action! Click or touch Erase everything to confirm and begin the reset.
  7. The notebook powers off and the screen shows Erasing. When the reset is complete, the notebook reboots. Set up the notebook by following the steps in the HP support document Setting Up Your HP Notebook.

Resetting with the notebook powered off

If the SlateBook does not boot normally, or if you do not remember the lock screen password, it may be necessary to perform a reset without turning on the notebook. Use the steps in this section to reset the notebook from the Android 4.2 or 4.3 system recovery menu:
  caution:
All data saved on your device is deleted when you perform a factory reset. All apps are uninstalled. Data stored in your Google Account can be restored. Back up all important files, either on the Web or with an external storage device, before resetting the notebook.
  1. Disconnect the charging cable from the notebook base.
  2. With the notebook powered off, press and hold the volume down and power button at the same time.
  3. When an HP logo appears on the screen, release the buttons.
    After a few seconds, the Android system recovery menu appears.
  4. Use the volume down button or pg dn arrow key to move the highlighted selection to Wipe data/factory reset.
    note:
    The touch screen and ClickPad are disabled when the notebook is in recovery mode. Use the volume up and volume down buttons, or the pg dn and pg up keys, to navigate up or down in the recovery menu. Use the power button or Enter key to make a selection.
    Figure : Wipe data/factory reset
    Wipe data/factory reset highlighted in Android system recovery menu
  5. Press the power button or Enter key to select.
  6. The screen displays Confirm wipe of all user data? THIS CAN NOT BE UNDONE. Use the volume down button to move the highlight down to Yes -- delete all user data.
    Figure : Confirm wipe of all user data
    Confirm wipe of all user data
  7. Press the power button or Enter key to confirm and begin the reset.
  8. A recovery system screen shows the reset process. Wait for the reset process to complete.
  9. When the screen says Data wipe complete, highlight Reboot system now, and then press the power button or Enter key to select.
    Figure : Reboot system now
    Reboot system now
    Wait for the notebook to reboot.
  10. Set up the notebook by following the steps in the HP support document Setting Up Your HP Notebook.

hp-feedback-input-portlet

Actions
Loading...

hp-feedback-banner-portlet

Actions
Loading...

hp-country-locator-portlet

Actions
Loading...
Country/Region: Flag United States

hp-detect-load-my-device-portlet

Actions
Loading...