solution Contentsolution Content

Prepare an HP printer for recycling or resale

If you are selling, recycling, or considering disposing of your printer, remove the cartridges, transfer or cancel your Instant Ink account, and restore factory defaults.

Note:

Together, we can make sure our precious resources do not go to waste. Once you are done with your HP printer and cartridges, have them reused or recycled. Go to HP Product return and recycling for options for your country/region.

Remove and recycle the cartridges

Remove and recycle the ink or toner cartridges before selling, recycling, or disposing of your HP printer.

Transfer or cancel your HP Instant Ink service

Transfer your Instant Ink services to a new HP printer, or cancel your Instant Ink service.

Restore printer factory defaults

Restore your printer to the default factory settings using the HP Smart app or internet browser to open the printer Embedded Web Server (EWS). Restoring factory defaults can help resolve printer setup issues, connectivity problems, and error messages.

  1. Choose one of the following methods to open the advanced settings for your printer.

    • HP Smart app: Click the image of your printer to open the settings and management tools, and then click Advanced Settings under Settings.

    • Printer EWS: Open the HP printer Embedded Web Server (EWS) using the printer IP address.

  2. From the EWS home page, click the Settings or System tab.

  3. If you are prompted to log in or enter the printer PIN, enter admin for the username (HP LaserJets only), enter the PIN from the printer label, and then click Submit or OK. This label is typically located inside the cartridge access area or printer door.

    Location of the PIN on the printer label
  4. Restore your printer to factory defaults.

    • For most HP printers, click Restore Factory Defaults or Factory under Restore Defaults. Click Restore Factory Defaults > Yes.

    • For HP LaserJet printers, click Service, and then click Restore defaults > OK.

    After about 20 seconds, your printer automatically restarts.

  5. Reconnect the printer to your Wi-Fi network, if necessary.

  6. Check for any printer firmware updates.

For more information, go to Restore factory defaults on your HP printer.

Remove the printer from your HP account

Use the HP Smart website to remove the printer from your HP account.

  1. Sign in to your HP Smart account.

  2. Under the account dashboard, click Printers to open your printer list.

    Clicking Printers
  3. Under the name of your printer, click Printer Options, and then click Remove Printer or Manage Printer Settings > Remove Printer.

    Clicking Remove Printer or Manage Printer Settings
  4. When prompted to confirm, click Remove to finish removing the printer from your HP Smart account.

It might take a few hours before the printer no longer displays on your HP Smart account.

Recycle the printer

After removing the cartridges, transferring or cancelling HP accounts, and restoring the factory defaults, recycle the HP printer.

Go to HP Product return and recycling for more information.