hp-support-head-portlet

Actions
Loading...

Welcome to HP Customer Support

hp-contact-secondary-navigation-portlet

Actions
Loading...

hp-share-print-widget-portlet

Actions
Loading...
  • Information
    Welcome Samsung Printer Customers

    Need support for your Samsung Printer?  HP is here to help!  Learn More

hp-concentra-wrapper-portlet

Actions
Loading...

Performing a Factory Reset on Your HP Slate 7 Plus Tablet (Android 4.2/Jelly Bean)

This document applies to HP Slate 7 Plus tablets with Android 4.2/Jelly Bean operating system.
Resetting your HP Slate 7 Plus tablet restores the original factory settings, removing all stored Google Accounts and erasing all stored data. All locally saved files, apps, and saved networks are deleted. If possible, back up important files, either on the Web or with an external storage device, before resetting the tablet. The Google Accounts themselves, and any data synced to the Web, are not affected by a reset.
You can reset the tablet with the power turned off or on. If the tablet starts normally and you are able to access the settings menu, use the steps in Resetting with your HP tablet powered on. If the tablet does not start normally, or if you do not remember the lock screen password, use the steps in Resetting with your HP tablet powered off.
Resetting with your HP tablet powered on
If the tablet starts normally and you are able to sign in to the owner account (the first account added to the device), use the steps in this section to reset your tablet to its original factory state. User accounts do not have access to factory reset. If you are unable to use these steps, see Resetting with your HP tablet powered off for instructions to reset your tablet from the Android system recovery menu.
  caution:
All data saved on your device is deleted when you perform a factory reset. All apps are uninstalled. Data stored in your Google Account can be restored. Back up all important files, either on the Web or with an external storage device, before resetting the tablet.
  1. From the Home screen, tap the All apps icon, and then tap the Settings icon.
  2. In the Personal section, tap Backup & reset.
    Figure : Backup & reset
    Backup & reset
  3. Tap Factory data reset.
    Figure : Factory data reset
    Factory data reset
  4. Tap Reset tablet.
    Figure : Reset tablet
    Reset tablet
  5. If you set a lock screen password for your tablet, enter your password when prompted.
  6. Tap Erase everything to confirm and begin the reset.
    Figure : Erase everything
    Erase everything
  7. The tablet powers off and the screen shows Erasing. When the reset is complete, the tablet reboots. Set up the tablet by following the steps in the HP support document Setting Up Your HP Tablet.
Resetting with your HP tablet powered off
If the tablet does not start normally, or if you do not remember the lock screen password, it might be necessary to perform a reset without turning on the tablet. Use the steps in this section to reset the tablet from the Android system recovery menu:
  caution:
All data saved on your device is deleted when you perform a factory reset. All apps are uninstalled. Data stored in your Google Account can be restored. Back up all important files, either on the Web or with an external storage device, before resetting the tablet.
  1. Disconnect the charging cable from the tablet.
  2. With the tablet powered off, press and hold the volume up (+) button and power button at the same time.
  3. When an HP logo appears on the screen with a boot options menu in the top left corner, release the buttons.
  4. In the boot options menu, use the volume down (-) button to scroll down to Recovery Kernel.
      note:
    If you scroll past Recovery Kernel, do not use the volume up (+) button to scroll up in the menu. Instead, continue pressing the volume down (-) button until Recovery Kernel is highlighted again.
    Figure : Recovery Kernel
    Recovery Kernel
  5. With Recovery Kernel highlighted, press the volume up (+) button to select.
  6. After a few seconds, an Android graphic appears with the message No command. Briefly press both the volume up (+) and volume down (-) buttons at the same time.
  7. When the Android system recovery menu appears, use the volume down button to highlight Wipe data/factory reset.
      note:
    The touchscreen is disabled when the tablet is in recovery mode. Use the volume up (+) and volume down (-) buttons to navigate up or down in the recovery menu. Use the power button to make a selection.
    Figure : Wipe data/factory reset
    Wipe data/factory reset highlighted in Android system recovery menu
  8. Press the power button to select.
  9. The screen displays Confirm wipe of all user data? THIS CAN NOT BE UNDONE. Use the volume down button to highlight Yes -- delete all user data.
    Figure : Confirm wipe of all user data
    Confirm wipe of all user data
  10. Press the power button to confirm and begin the reset.
  11. A recovery system screen shows the reset process. Wait for the reset process to complete.
  12. When the screen displays the message Data wipe complete, highlight Reboot system now, and then press the power button to select.
    Figure : Reboot system now
    Reboot system now
    Wait for the tablet to reboot.
  13. Set up the tablet by following the steps in the HP support document Setting Up Your HP Tablet.

hp-feedback-input-portlet

Actions
Loading...

hp-online-communities-portlet

Actions
Loading...

Ask the community!


Support Forum

Support Forum

Join the conversation! Find Solutions, ask questions, and share advice with other HP product owners. Visit now


hp-feedback-banner-portlet

Actions
Loading...

hp-country-locator-portlet

Actions
Loading...
Country: Flag Philippines

hp-detect-load-my-device-portlet

Actions
Loading...